I was a DevRel the whole time! 🥑

I was a DevRel the whole time! 🥑

·

3 min read

Hey there! My name is ZONA! 😄👋🏽I am a Developer Advocate and have been for quite some time now, possibly for a couple of years, and didn't even realize it till a week ago!

I know you may be thinking, "How is that even possible?"

Gif description

As some of you may know, I have been on my journey as a software engineer since January of this year! I came across a FREE virtual coding Bootcamp called 100Devs (literally by accident btw) and it's honestly changed the trajectory of my life!

So where does DevRel🥑 come in?

During this journey, I would constantly see the word "DevRel" being thrown around soo much that at first thought it was a programming language of some sort. Then one day I came across a Twitch streamer who was coding live and she discussed her job as a DevRel and how streaming was a part of her job...🤯Immediately my first thought was "Umm where do I sign up?", and had DevRel on the back of my head, but my priority was still to become a software engineer.

Fast forward to August I was told by my job that I would be on "break" so I took the month to grind learning to code JavaScript and come up with things to keep me productive. Well Iow and behold I actually started streaming! Something I was absolutely petrified to do at first because of my social anxiety, insecurities, and fear of being lost in a sea of more successful streamers but my boyfriend encouraged me to go for it. Not to mention I pretty much had ALL the equipment needed to start so I did and it was one of the best decisions ever!

Gif description

In September, I became the Founder & Community Manager of a discord server, ZONA TRIBE, since every streamer has one to interact with their audience outside of streaming. To be honest, I thought it was just gonna be myself and 5 other friends. Well, I'm glad to report that as of today we have reached 100+ members in the community which consists of individuals from all over the world who have a passion for tech and gaming. We have study/coding sessions, watch movies or anime, and even learn Japanese together which is freakin cool. All to say I've made a lot of new friends along the way!

Gif description

Lastly, I co-host two weekly Twitter spaces, Boba & Cherry Cafe and Timeout Tuesday. Both of these live podcasts involve conversations on topics relating to tech, mental health, and personal growth. I really enjoy connecting with others who may have expertise in various topics or others who are completely new to tech and helping them navigate within the big community.

I really gotta thank, my boyfriend & friends who saw the potential in me becoming a DevRel before I saw it in myself. If I hadn't started streaming, writing blogs, creating an awesome community, and really putting myself out there, I wouldn't have discovered what was right in front of my face all along!

Summary:

const ZONA = Community Manager + Streamer + Spaces Host + Writer

return "ZONA is a Advocado!!!🥑"

When did you realize you were a DevRel? Comment below! 😎✌🏽

Follow me on Twitter!

Join the ZONA TRIBE!✨

Did you find this article valuable?

Support ZONA by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!