My journey into coding...

My journey into coding...

·

3 min read

So what got me into the world of coding?

The 90s ✨

Well I've been interested in tech for as long as I can remember. I recall being a kid and my father coming home with a computer system and helping him put it together. This moment was the foundation for my love of technology.

Gif description

Early 2000s

When MySpace was popular I was fascinated with how people were able to customize their profile pages with graphics and this was my first interaction with code. To bad I didn't think much of it at the time.

College years 📚

I went to my community college here in Miami and found out that there was a new degree for software development and decided to try it out. I had an amazing professor at the time, "Joe", and attended his C++ and Android development courses. I fell in love with coding! I remember for one of my final projects pulling an all nighter, just to get my mobile app pitch perfect.

Unfortunately, by the next semester when I attended his IOS Swift course, another professor walked in and informed us that "Joe" left the school and that he would take over. I was disappointed and didn't like the new professor's way of teaching, I got lost right away. Eventually I just stopped coming to class altogether and failed the course. I also ended up switching majors to Computer IT, a degree that I never used to this day.

Gif description

2010s

After graduating, I got into photography and did freelancing for about 8 years. I am a creative and though I loved doing it, I would wonder whether it's something I see myself doing forever. I live in a city where it's saturated with photographers and so it's hard to make a great living out of it.

Gif description

Breakthrough 🙌

Last year, my boyfriend suggested that I should go back to school, but in the back of my mind I didn't want to get into more debt. And by accident I found an online coding boot camp called 100Devs on Twitter. A 30-week coding boot camp that is is aimed at teaching full stack web development.

Not gonna lie I thought it was a scam at first (I mean who runs a FREE boot camp when other camps are easily making $15,000 per person?), but after watching the first class and listening to Leon's reason for making it free: to help others break into tech, especially since the pandemic which affected the lives of many people. I was sold! It reignited my itch to learn code once again!

Three weeks into the boot camp, I inspired my amazing boyfriend to join as well. It has been such an amazing journey learning full stack development and look forward to share what I've been learning.

Gif description

Did you find this article valuable?

Support ZONA by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!