My Short & Long Term Goals

ยท

3 min read

My boyfriend, Luis & I recently hosted a Twitter space where the topic was to discuss our short term and/or long term goals. It was such an phenomenal and engaging conversation with 13 other people as we shared our dreams and aspirations.

But if I'm honest, since joining my coding cohort, making goals hasn't really come across my mind as much as it should. Perhaps it's because I'm more focused on learning JavaScript and catching up on assignments that the thought of where I'd be a year from now hasn't crossed my mind.

Gif description

I do know that I want to be a software engineer. I enjoy writing code and troubleshooting bugs and issues. But after that Twitter space, it allowed me to reflect on where I see myself in the future. So here are my goals:

Short Term

1. Be Fluent in JavaScript

Gif description I want to become fluent and knowledgeable in the JavaScript language. At times I feel like I'm reading Japanese (a language I also need to learn ๐ŸŽŒ) but I'm not giving up and I'm taking the time I need to understand every concept to the best of my ability.

2. Complete the 100Devs cohort ๐Ÿฅณ๐ŸŽ‰

I can't thank Leon Noel and his boot camp enough for coming along in my life at the right time. I was about to hit an identity crisis as I couldn't seem to figure out what I wanted to do in my life and I have to say that through 100Devs I've found purpose again.

3. Break into Tech

Gif description I want to land an Jr. Software Engineering job this year, Lord willing. I am more than 10 weeks into my boot-camp (can't believe I'm still here!), and I'm just as just as eager to learn now than in the beginning and would love to be apart of a team where I can use my skills to make a difference.

Long Term

1. Create a Platform?

Gif description I'm not sure how this would look like as of yet. But I know that I would love to create and grow a platform where I can teach and help women & POC in breaking into tech. This could be creating a YouTube channel or streaming on Twitch but I will definitely be planning this soon!

2. Travel

Gif description

This is not tech related but my dream is to travel throughout the United States and abroad, an opportunity I didn't get to have growing up so I have a lot of catching up to do. My dream destinations are Japan, Italy, & Iceland.

3. Starting a Family

Gif description

I'm just writing this because I'm not getting any younger! Haha!

Comment below your short term and/or long term goals?

Did you find this article valuable?

Support ZONA by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!

ย