Work/Life Balance While Learning to Code

·

2 min read

I'm currently going on four months of my coding journey! Like HELLO!

Gif descriptionAnd boy has it been a roller coaster. Now looking back it's crazy how much of my daily routine has changed because of it and I've even had to make a couple sacrifices in order to make time to practice everyday.

So as of today here is what my Mon-Fri schedule looks like:

  • Wake up (3:45am)

  • Work (5am - 12:30pm)

  • Lunch break (1 - 2pm)

  • Studying/Coding + Coffee Chats (3pm - 8pm)

  • Sleepy Time (10pm - Wake up time again)

Gif description

And trust me during these days it feels as if 24 hours isn't enough! And I've realized that I've had to make sacrifices to make this work, like socializing with friends less (unless it's an important event) or saving off traveling till after I complete my cohort.

Another decision that was VERY difficult for me recently was canceling my gym membership. 😓 It hurts because fitness is very important to me but I haven't been able to fit time into my routine, and those membership charges were adding up. I'm probably going to have to join a more affordable gym once I can make time in my schedule for it. But for now, I'm looking into ways to implementing fitness workouts from home and eating healthier.

Gif description

I'm not writing this to get sympathy because I'm a believer in that not all seasons of life are permanent, these are sacrifices I am doing to prepare a better lifestyle in the near future.

What is something that you had to sacrifice while learning to code?

Thanks for reading!

Follow me on Twitter here!

Did you find this article valuable?

Support ZONA by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!